About Us

Who We Are

CDTA is a nationally recognized body whose aims are to establish and maintain,
throughout Canada, a formal non-profit organization of qualified dance teachers.

Association History

On May 2, 1949 a historical meeting took place at the studio of Miss Mildred Wickson.  A small group of fourteen dedicated dance teachers gathered to consider forming an Association of Canadian Dance Teachers.  A one day convention and meeting was planned for Sunday October 23, 1949.  Dame Ninette de Valois sent Harold Turner and four young students from the Sadlers Wells Company, London England. 

After this event the Canadian Dance Teachers’ Association became a reality with Mildred Wickson as the first President and Jean Crawford as Secretary.  One of the first ventures financed by the newly formed Canadian Dance Teacher’s Association was to sponsor the cross Canada auditions for promising ballet students who formed the nucleus of the now Internationally renowned National Ballet Company of Canada.

Promoting friendship and
the exchange of knowledge


Board of Directors

Christine Campbell


Angelique Ashwin

Vice President
Stage Division Chair

Georgina Church

Past President
Recording Secretary

Susan Romeril


Carole Tamulionis

Member at Large

Gaetane Hughes

Ballet Examining Chair

Janette Lindley

Ballet Division Chair

Marlene Katzman

Modern Division Liaison
Member at Large

Heather King

Member at Large

Marie Ann Longlade Link

Member at Large

Our Examiners


Donna Moreau (Chair)

Marie Ann Longlade Link

June Lawrence

Anna Marie Oliver

Tammy Valiquette

Audrey Jesch

Gaetane Hughes

Sheila Stumpf


Gaetane Hughes (Chair)

Janette Lindley

Ava Dalcourt

Cristina Pora

June Lawrence

Susan Romeril

Marie Ann Longlade-Link

Become a Member Today!

Interested candidates must pass an examination in the discipline of their choice.